Knotwerk by Ritchie Po: Reworking the Knot 2015

Like the Hobbit, I took an unexpected journey in 2015. Having known THECloset YVR’s founder Helen Siwak through personal shopping, I learned the fringe benefits of ecoluxury living and the value of great couture through luxury resale. But perhaps one of the most unexpected delights of the year was in writing KnotwerkByRitchiePo and earning the privilege of attending several great events with (and without) my statuesque editor in Vancouver.

Knotwerkbyritchiepo, Ritchie Po, EcoLuxLuv, Helen Siwak, theclosetyvr, vancouver, yvr, vancity, fashion, stylist, fashion, blogger, style

In revisiting some of the blog posts, here are the ones that stood out the most for me in 2015:

TELUS Garden: Shooting my beloved Seigo Katsuragawa limited-edition cravat in a downtown Vancouver landmark made me better understand how corporations can not only be eco-friendly, but also a thought leader in sustainable living. It is heartening to see more great companies be such great citizens and leading the charge on issues like these.

Knotwerkbyritchiepo, Ritchie Po, EcoLuxLuv, Helen Siwak, theclosetyvr, vancouver, yvr, vancity, fashion, stylist, fashion, blogger, style

2015 Vancouver Luxury & Supercar Weekend: I look forward to every James Bond 007 film, and having the chance of shooting in an Aston Martin was a giddy boyhood dream come true. It was such a great event, we had the pleasure of meeting the bi-provincial couple Darcy Kaser and Randall MacDonald, and had to write two posts about it!

Knotwerkbyritchiepo, Ritchie Po, EcoLuxLuv, Helen Siwak, theclosetyvr, vancouver, yvr, vancity, fashion, stylist, fashion, blogger, style

John Fluevog / #StepUp4CTYP Fundraiser: My lovely and talented friend Danielle Lemon put together another successful venture for local theatre. I did not get to see the BalmainxH&M capsule collection mass-market launch, but I did get to rock my vintage Balmain at this event instead. I look forward to the third edition in 2016.

Fluevog

Harry Rosen L’Arte Dell ‘Eleganza Italiana Event: Where better to wear my vintage Zegna and Dolce & Gabbana than at a national menswear institute’s fall launch? I can’t wait for the delights they will bring in spring.

Knotwerkbyritchiepo, Ritchie Po, EcoLuxLuv, Helen Siwak, theclosetyvr, vancouver, yvr, vancity, fashion, stylist, fashion, blogger, style

Goorin Bros in Yaletown: Haberdasheries are increasingly rare, but this hat maker’s Vancouver location is a favourite haunt if only for the distressed couch and incredible displays.

Knotwerkbyritchiepo, Ritchie Po, EcoLuxLuv, Helen Siwak, theclosetyvr, vancouver, yvr, vancity, fashion, stylist, fashion, blogger, style

Joey Dimz: I’ve always admired fellow Filipinos who, like me, have migrated and made something of themselves. Mr. Dimz’s Atelier truly delivers state-of-the-art men’s fashion in a current yet ever-timeless style. A bespoke suit by Joey Dimz – who has a very select but discerning clientele – is truly a lifetime investment.

Knotwerkbyritchiepo, Ritchie Po, EcoLuxLuv, Helen Siwak, theclosetyvr, vancouver, yvr, vancity, fashion, stylist, fashion, blogger, style

And my ultimate post of the year was the biggest retail event in Vancouver for 2015: the Nordstrom Fundraising Gala. We were given the privilege of shooting the blog post in the JWS private shopping suite, by Nordstrom’s PR Director John Bailey. I have been privileged to attend multiple clientele-only events in this international flagship several times since launching.

Ritchie Nordstrom

I especially want to thank Alnoor, Chris, Ramir and Carlos for always taking care of me every time I am there. It is always a pleasure to take family and friends to this glorious luxury retail vanguard time and again, and a daily visit to the eBar café is part of my daily morning ritual.

Thank you to everyone for supporting Knotwerk and THECloset YVR in 2015. I look forward to attending more events and continuing to style write for Eco.Lux.Luv blog, helping you dress for success in 2016.

Happy New Year!!

Leave a Reply

